Webinar on Readiness of TVET Towards IR 4.0 (Livestream)

April 6, 2020 | 12:30pm Afghanistan | 1:00pm Maldives, Pakistan | 1:30pm India, Sri Lanka | 1:45pm Nepal | 2:00pm Bangladesh, Bhutan | 2:30pm Myanmar | 3:00pm Thailand | 4:00pm China, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Singapore | 6:00pm Papua New Guinea | 8:00pm Fiji

Background and Focus

Due to the current COVID -19 situation in world, CPSC has suspended its operations and allow work from home. Therefore it is important to introduce WEBINAR in CPSC and conduct training programs online.

A webinar is an online seminar that turns a presentation into a real-time conversation from anywhere in the world. Webinars allow large groups of participants to engage in online discussions or training events and share audio, documents or slides – even when they’re not in the same place as the meeting host or in the same room where the event or presentation is taking place.

The first proposed webinar topic is Readiness of TVET towards IR4.0. As Technical Education and Vocational Training has globally been recognized as most effective tool for increasing employment and poverty reduction. The shortage of skilled worker for the international and local industry is increase day by day and one of the reasons is introduction of Industrial Revolution 4.0 elements in workplace environment.

The revolution brings new exciting opportunities and solutions to global challenges such as automation of industrialization. It will also produce new jobs that have yet to be invented. The critical challenge for skills development is serious skills mismatches despite growing investments in the Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET). Thus governments, educators and policy maker alike must ask the questions about how they can prepare present and future TVET to thrive in this transforming world. Technical and Vocational Education & Training in the Fourth Industrial Revolution (TVET 4.0) is a complex, dialectical and exciting opportunity which can potentially transform society for the better. The fourth industrial revolution is powered by artificial intelligence and it will transform the workplace from tasks based characteristics to the human centered characteristics. Because of the convergence of man and machine, it will reduce the subject distance between humanities and social science as well as science and technology. This will necessarily require much more interdisciplinary teaching, research and innovation in TVET. Therefore TVET stakeholders in Asia Pacific region have to set new initiatives and make efforts to cultivate holistic, entrepreneurial and balanced graduates to be globally competitive and meet the needs of Industry 4.0.



Objectives

  • To offer online training programs for CPSC member countries participants without any interruption
  • To understand the dynamics of IR 4.0 and its disruption in TVET
  • To identify the components of TVET to address IR 4.0