In pursuing efforts to contribute towards the fulfillment of the “ASEAN Community 2015”, particularly in the aspects of education and training, the Colombo Plan Staff College for Technician Education (CPSC) actively engaged in activities pertinent to accomplishing aims and purposes of the ASEAN. Dr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub, CPSC Director General, shared his insights on the theme “Challenges in Education towards the Realization of ASEAN Community 2015” as one of the Resource Speakers in the ASEAN Forum 2013 held at Sugarland Hotel in Bacolod City, Philippines on August 30, 2013.

The forum, with a total of 203 participants coming from the academe and the tourism industry tackled issues related to the impact of the ASEAN community on services, tourism and education.

Dr. Naim in his presentation imparted his knowledge on the challenges of the education systems in the 10 member governments of the ASEAN and some initiatives in addressing such concerns in view of the realization of the ASEAN Community 2015. He also provided information about CPSC’s mandate, history, activities, services and benefits, particularly its accreditation services.

Dr. Numyoot Songthanapitak, President, Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna, Thailand, who was one of the distinguished speakers, imparted his view on the same theme on “Challenges in Education towards the Realization of ASEAN Community 2015”. Ms. Ma. Teresa Loring, from the Bureau of Export Trade Promotion, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Philippines spoke on “Challenges on the ASEAN Economic Community on Services”, while Director Julius Flores, ASEAN Desk, Department of Foreign Affairs, Philippines discussed “ASEAN Socio-Cultural Cooperation: Education, Culture, Sports and Youth”.

The earlier half of the forum focused on “ASEAN MRA Seminar on Tourism Professional” with host of speakers from the tourism industry in the Philippines.

On August 8, 1967, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established by the founding fathers composed of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand through the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration). Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Lao PDR and Myanmar, and Cambodia, which later joined the association and made up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.

In line with the ASEAN Vision 2020, the ASEAN Leaders resolved that an ASEAN Community by 2015 shall be established. "The ASEAN Community is comprised of three pillars, namely the ASEAN Political-Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. Each pillar has its own Blueprint, and, together with the Initiative for ASEAN Integration (IAI) Strategic Framework and IAI Work Plan Phase II (2009-2015), they form the Roadmap for and ASEAN Community 2009-2015."

CPSC is committed to provide valuable contributions in broadly taking up programs and activities that may help achieve overall goals of the ASEAN, which states that “To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres”; and more specifically assist in actively pursuing targets for the ASEAN Community 2015.


(Fr. L-R) Dr. Naim Yaakub, Director General, CPSC, Dr. Paiboon Saiyawongs, Assistant to the President for International Relations, Rajamangala University of Technology Thanyaburi, Thailand, and Dr. Numyoot Songthanapitak, President, Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna, Thailand, at the forum.

Participants of the forum listen intently during presentations.