95th GBM Members and Representatives: (Seated L-R) Ms. Aro Davis, First Secretary, Embassy of Papua New Guinea; H.E. Mohsin Razi, Ambassador of Pakistan and Outgoing GB Chairman; Dr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub, CPSC Director General and GB Member Secretary (Standing L-R) Ms. Kira Danganan – Azucena, Executive Director, DFA – UNIO; Atty. Teodoro Pascua, Deputy Director General, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) and Incoming GB Vice Chairman; H.E. Nawalage Bennet Cooray, Ambassador of Sri Lanka; H.E. Maj. Gen. John Gomes, PSC (Retd), Ambassador of Bangladesh; H.E. Amit Dasgupta, Ambassador of India; Mr. Htuann Naung, Second Secretary & Consul, Embassy of Myanmar; and Ms. Hana Suri, Second Secretary (Political), Embassy of Singapore

The Governing Board (GB) of the Colombo Plan Staff College (CPSC) convened its 95th session on June 27, 2013 at the CPSC Headquarters in Manila, Philippines. The Board took up eight agenda items including the Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2012–2013, Proposed Corporate Plan 2013 – 2018, Proposed Operational Plan and Budget for Fiscal Year 2013–2014, Report of the Standing Committee on ways to increase number of new member countries and proposed composition of working group to update CPSC’s Memorandum of Agreement with the Government of the Philippines, and the Election and Turnover of Chairmanship and Vice Chairmanship of the GB.

The launching of CPSC’s First Journal titled STEPS (Scholarly Technical Education Publication Series) and the revised APACC (Asia Pacific Accreditation and Certification Commission (APACC) Instrument was held just before the meeting.

The meeting was presided by H.E. Mohsin Razi, Chairman of the CPSC GB and Ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to the Philippines and was co-chaired by Ms. Aro Davis, First Secretary of the Embassy of Papua New Guinea representing the Ambassador and CPSC GB Vice Chairman H.E. Chris Vihruri. The meeting was attended by the Ambassador of Bangladesh, Ambassador of India, Ambassador of Sri Lanka, Director General of CPSC, and representatives of Ambassadors of Myanmar and Singapore. The Philippines, as host country, was represented by TESDA and DFA - UNIO.

The GB Chairman commended the Director-General of CPSC for the outstanding performance in a landmark fiscal year 2012-2013 that sets multiple record-setting achievements. The DG of CPSC acknowledged that these achievements were only made possible with the great support of the GB and the unparalleled support from the CPSC faculty and staff. During this fiscal year, CPSC recorded the highest ever number of participation (2,502) and most number of programs (49) with high participants’ satisfaction and end-of-course performance while recording the lowest unit cost of training, making it the most cost-efficient fiscal year ever. The year also generated positive developments for APACC as it set the record for the highest number of APACC on-site accreditation visits, expanded pool of accreditors through formal training, assessment and certification, and improved the APACC instrument, renamed APACC 2.0.

Other operational highlights include publication of the first ever CPSC Journal “STEPS”, the development of new CPSC Corporate Plan 2013 – 2018; recertification for 3 years (2013-2016) under ISO 9001:2008; adjustment of salary for professional and support staff, and revision of the Performance-Based Appraisal System.

The election and turnover of leadership took place as the last agendum of the meeting. The CPSC Director General explained that CPSC elects the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board on rotational basis, following alphabetical order of countries represented. H.E. Chris Vihruri, Ambassador of Papua New Guinea, through his representative and Atty. Teodoro Pascua, TESDA Deputy Director General, accepted the Chairmanship and Vice–Chairmanship of the GB respectively for Fiscal Year 2013–2014. The outgoing Chairman H.E. Mohsin Razi was presented a Plaque of Recognition for his leadership during his term. Excellencies in the GB took turn to express thanks to the outgoing Chairman and good wishes to the incoming Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

The 96th GB Meeting will be held on January 29, 2014 (Wednesday), as approved by the Board.

Dr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub presenting the Plaque of Recognition to outgoing GB Chairman, H.E. Mohsin Razi, assisted by Ms. Aro Davis, First Secretary of the Embassy of Papua New Guinea