The Colombo Plan Staff College (CPSC) Governing Board (GB) convened its 105th session on July 5, 2018 at the CPSC Headquarters in Manila, Philippines. Aside from the Adoption of the Agenda, Adoption of the Minutes of the 104th GB Meeting held on January 25, 2018, and Summary of Actions Taken based on Board Decisions and Business Arising, the Board took up four agenda items as follows: Annual Report for FY 2017-2018, Report of the Standing Committee, Honorary Membership Application of Diploma Engineers Association Nepal, and the Turn Over of Chairpersonship and Vice Chairpersonship of the CPSC Governing Board.

105th GBM Members and Representatives (L-R): Ms. Therese Cantada, Director, Socio-Cultural Division, Office of the United Nations and other International Organizations (UNIO), Department of Foreign Affairs, Philippines; Mr. N. Ramakrishnan, First Secretary, Embassy of the Republic of India; Mr. Rizany Irwan Muhamad Mazlan, Counsellor, Embassy of Malaysia; H.E. U Win Naing, Ambassador of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar; H.E. Asad Alam Siam, Ambassador of People’s Republic of Bangladesh and GB Vice Chairperson; Ms. Urawadee Sriphiromya, Chargé d’affaires, a.i., Royal Thai Embassy and GB Chairperson; H.E. Dr. Aman Rashid, Ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan; H.E. Aruni Ranaraja, Ambassador of Sri Lanka; H.E. Kok Li Peng, Ambassador of Singapore; Dr. Ramhari Lamichhane, Director General, CPSC; Mr. Nawi Bokuik, Chargé d’affaires, a.i., Embassy of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea; Ms. Ma. Susan Dela Rama, Executive Director, Certification Office, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) Philippines

The Chairperson of the CPSC GB and Chargé d’affaires, a.i. of the Royal Thai Embassy to the Philippines Ms. Urawadee Sriphiromya presided the meeting. It was attended by the Ambassadors of People’s Republic of Bangladesh, Myanmar, Pakistan, Singapore and Sri Lanka; Chargé d’ Affaires of the Embassy of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, Director General of CPSC; representatives from Embassies of India, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, and Thailand; and representatives from the Office of the United Nations and other International Organizations, Department of Foreign Affairs and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA).

The CPSC Director General Dr. Ramhari Lamichhane reported the activities and accomplishments of the Staff College for FY 2017 – 2018 with the Annual Report. He presented the implementation of regional programs, in-country programs, customized programs and study visits, special collaborative programs, activities related to the Asia Pacific Accreditation and Certification Commission (APACC), as well as the Professional Internship Program for International Experience (PIPIE). The Board also approved the proposed Operational Plan and Budget for FY 2018 – 2019.

CPSC DG Dr. Ramhari Lamichhane and Incoming GB Chairperson H.E. Asad Alam Siam awarding the Plaque of Recognition to the Outgoing GB Chairperson Ms. Urawadee Sriphiromya

The meeting also served as the Election and Turn-over Ceremony of the Governing Board Leadership. Per the norms, CPSC elects the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Board on rotational basis, following alphabetical order of countries represented. Before turning over the Chairpersonship to the Ambassador of Bangladesh H.E. Asad Alam Siam, the outgoing Chairperson and Chargé d’affaires, a.i. of the Royal Thai Embassy Ms. Urawadee Sriphiromya extended her appreciation to all the members of the Board for the support and cooperation. H.E. Asad Alam Siam, on the other hand, looked forward to working closely with the CPSC Secretariat. Meanwhile, the representative of Embassy of India Mr. N. Ramakrishnan took over as Vice Chairperson of the Board for fiscal year 2018-2019.

All the agenda items presented were disposed. In his concluding remarks, the new GB Chairperson H.E. Asad Alam Siam thanked all the members of the Board for their usual cooperation and active participation.

The 106th GB Meeting will be held on January 31, 2019 (Thursday).