His Excellency Benigno Aquino III, Philippine President (center) with the country’s high officials 
during the 2nd National TechVoc Congress of the Philippines

The 2nd National TechVoc Congress was privileged with a Keynote Address by the President himself of the Republic of the Philippines, His Excellency Benigno S. Aquino III. The Congress was convened by the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) and Technical Vocational Schools and Associations of the Philippines Inc. (TEVSAPHIL INC.) and their partners on October 29, 2013 at the SMX Convention Center, Pasay City, Philippines 

CPSC, in the light of strengthening linkages with techvoc institutions in the Philippines and in fully espousing progress in Philippine TVET has actively participated in the highly significant annual event. The CPSC Director General, Dr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub attended this year’s congress to discuss together with other participants and partners current and emerging concerns and future directions for technical vocational education and training.

The 1,500 attendees of the National Congress brought to fore eight highly relevant recommendations envisioning a more inclusive and responsive TVET vis-à-vis the country’s overall development plan and in view of facing “the need to face the challenge of ASEAN Economic Integration to better prepare the techvoc institutions in the development of Filipino workers”(2nd National Techvoc Congress). 

The eight recommendations highlight the following major undertakings 1. The Philippine Development Plan; 2. Client Targeting Approach to Inclusive Growth; 3. The Tourism Development Roadmap; 4. The Role of TechVoc in Accelerating Agricultural Development; 5. The Manufacturing Industry Roadmap; 6. ASEAN Community; 7. Best JobsFit Report 2013; and 8. The National TechVoc Roadmap 2014-2016. 

Other high officials from the Philippine government who graced the event as Key Speakers include: Hon. Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva, Secretary, TESDA; Hon. Rosalinda Dimapilis-Baldoz, Secretary, Department of Labor and Employment; Hon. Proceso J. Alcala, Secretary, Department of Agriculture; Hon. Arsenio M. Balisacan, Secretary, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA); Hon. Adrian S. Cristobal, Jr., Undersecretary, Industry Development and Trade Policy Group; Hon. Jude H. Esguerra, Undersecretary, National Anti-Poverty Commission; DDG Irene M. Isaac, Sectoral TVET, TESDA; Col. Alejandro T. Escaño, Chairman/President, TEVSAPHIL; and Dir. Ma. Rica C. Bueno, Office of Tourism Standards and Regulations, Department of Tourism. 

TEVSAPHIL is composed of associations of education and training private institutions that offer programs under the governance of TESDA and of individual private institutions offering technical vocational education and training programs (http://www.tevsaphil.com/aboutus.php). 

The Philippines is a member country of the CPSC and has been CPSC’s host country since 1987.

Guests and attendees at the National Techvoc Congress of the Philippines