Friday, 29 July 2011 07:24

Senior Malaysian polytechnic officials briefed about APACC

A group of Malaysian polytechnic and community colleges directors and senior MOHE officials was convened by CPSC for a briefing on Asia-Pacific accreditation and certification system for Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) institutions, a quality-assurance mechanism initiated by CPSC since 2004. The group was led by Deputy Director General (Operation) Datuk Hj. Mohlis bin Jaafar and Deputy Director General (Strategic) Mr. Amir Md. Noor who both positively acknowledged the significance of a regional accreditation scheme exclusive for TVET institutions.

malaysiavisit2011-07iDr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub (standing, left) and Prof. Dr. Rajesh Khambayat (standing, right) explain the APACC framework to MOHE officials representing the Department of Polytechnic Education, Department of Community College Education and UPSI. 

Dr. Mohammad Naim Yaakub, CPSC Director General and ex-officio President of APACC, together with Prof. Dr. Rajesh Khambayat and Prof TJ Tesoro Gayondato,

Joint Coordinators for the Asia-Pacific Accreditation and Certification Commission (APACC) facilitated the briefing for 19 directors, MOHE officials and representative from the Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI). The briefing, which took place at the Kuala Lumpur Metro Polytechnic on July 21, 2011, imparted the rationale behind having a regional TVET institution quality benchmark as part of CPSC's effort to improve the performance and achievements of TVET institutions in its member countries and promote workforce mobility across the region. They were also apprised of the accreditation framework, criteria, process and progress of APACC’s work.

Polytechnics represented in the briefing were Politeknik Ungku Omar (PUO), Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah (PSAS), Politeknik Banting Selangor (PBS), Politeknik Mersing Johor (PMJ), Politeknik Hulu Terengganu (PHT), Hulu Langat Community College, Politeknik Balik Pulau (PBU), Politeknik Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah (PSA) and Politeknik Jeli (PJK).

MOHE officials from the Department of Polytechnic Education present were from Industrial Relations and Promotional Division, Research and Development Division and Assessment and Certification Division.